So my Tounsend let me down

oldfrt613

Feeble Sponsoring Member
Jun 29, 2005
I have torn my ACL in both my knees. Right one 25 yrs ago. Most recent was my left knee 6 mos ago ( ugly uphill swap ). I ordered a Townsend brace to match my right brace. I've been riding for about 3 mos since. Yesterday I made a flat landing, not very hard, and my shin bone popped out. Yes a lovely way to end the day. Currently it is swollen and under ice. Which Asterisk brace provides maximum support, I assume they have various models. I know there has to be other guys riding with torn ACL's - what do you use ?

darringer

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 2, 2001
I use and love my Asterisk braces. I have been using them for about three years with no problems. My left knee has no ACL, no cartilage, and very little meniscus. Therefore it is very unstable. Check out www.asterisk.com To me, they are well worth the money.

oldfrt613

Feeble Sponsoring Member
Jun 29, 2005
I tried the web, but I hate to download more crap on my computer just to check it out - besides, where can I get more relivant feedback but here. Is my assumption correct that the "Cell" is their "best" brace ?

oldguy

Always Broken
Dec 26, 1999
The cell is their brace nothing better. I wouldn't dream of letting my son ride/race without a pair on him and since getting them his knees are about the only body part he hasn't injured.
I have blown out knees (skiing and dirtbikes), altho they have been repaired, I now also have a pair of cells for the few times I ride. They are designed to do one thing only and that is protect your knees and they do it.
The next best thing about them is their customer service you won't find any better anywhere before, during and after the sale makes no differance.
Just remember the first 2 rides with them will feel strange but after that my guess is you will forget you are wearing them

oldfrt613

Feeble Sponsoring Member
Jun 29, 2005