holly123212

Oct 1, 2005
Hello,
Wow, lots of good info here. Im new to MX. Never ridden. Want to buy my first bike. There is a lot to choose from and I dont have any friends that ride to ask advice. Suggestions appreciated so I can narrow down what I should be looking at. Here's a little about me...

5'7" 120lbs female.
Im moderately aggressive, want to go fast and get a little crazy, but remain in control.
Will ride wide open dry/weedy fields at my home- no woods, not wet- will also occasionally ride MX tracks- there is one called Blue Diamond park here that looks cool- lots of hills and jumps.
I have no experience riding or working on bikes- Im mechanically inclined tho.
Would like to keep it under $1500. Been looking online at auction sites and there are a couple of dealers here- Honda Powersports close by.
Wondering how i move the bike around. Small trailer to tow? Or do they make something that attaches to the back of an SUV? Its just me, im strong- but realistic, and I need to be able to lift bike easily to get back up when I go down.
I dont want to get a dumbed-down slow bike cause Im a girl.
That said- thanks for any help!

SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
Since you've never ridden, I'm leary to suggest a motocross bike, as they make very peaky power that comes on suddenly. I would see if you can find a Honda XR100R used for cheap, learn to ride on it for a couple months then get a KX100.

holly123212

Oct 1, 2005
Yeah.. I saw an article on starter playbikes, from what I was reading, the CRF230F or 150 might be a good pick. Are these bikes a lot heavier than other similar bikes? Im ok with getting a starter bike to learn on, but havent seen any for much less than $1100. I did find a guy locally that gives lessons at the MX track park here and a local shop that's supposed to be great with advice for beginners. So, I have some leads for more advice. I appreciate your help here.

tyesai

Nov 4, 2004