Suggestions on building a crate to ship a bike?

sigar

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2000
Hey everyone,

I want to ship my CRF450 from California to Hawaii for my honeymoon. The options are designing smaller individual boxes and shipping it via UPS, and then assembling it in Hawaii, or building a big crate so that I can ship it on a freight boat. The idea is to keep the the boxes/crate as small as possible so that I can keep the shipping rate down. It also needs to be secure enough so that I don't end up with a mangled bike. Has anyone had any experience with this. Any suggestions. Thanks.

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
I have no experience with shipping a bike but have some experience with a honeymoon, you sure you need the bike? Did I miss something in the honeymoon manual? ;)

bluerider125

~SPONSOR~
Feb 23, 2002
well, i don't know exactly what dimensions, but i would use 2x4's and 1x6's. take the handlebars off, but keep the bar clamps on the tripleclamp, to make holes for tie-down straps. make the crate about six inches wider than the tank shrouds, and screw in tie-down loops on the bottom 2x4's. make the crate approx. 2" higher than the tripleclamps. roll the bike in backwards (with the top already nailed on), and use some straps through the bar clamps to the tie-down loops on the floor. the crate shouldn't be taller than maybe 4 feet tall, two and a half feet wide, and 7 feet long. of course, i just came up with these figures off the top of my head, but it's a rough estimate. just drain the gas tank and the carb, in case the loading people don't pay attention to the "this side up" sign you are going to paint on the side. :confused:

Skid Jackson

Nov 1, 2000
last time i was at the kaw dealer they had a stack of crates they had broken down and looked like they were getting rid of them. you might call around and see if you can get a crate from a dealer.

osheen

Feb 27, 2000