Taking a kid riding that isn't yours...

yzguy15

Sprayin tha game
N. Texas SP
I want to take this friend of mine out riding with me and my dad because he has no one to take him. His mom says it's ok, but what kind of forms do we need to have signed, notarized, etc. so my dad can take him to the doctor if he happens to get hurt? Thanks so much.

zio

Mr. Atlas
I'm no lawyer (someone feel free to step in and correct me), but we have written notes for our children with verbage similar to this:

(date)

I, _______, give permission to __________ to make any/all decisions regarding the health/welfare of my son/daughter, ___________, during the period of ______ to _______. This includes permission to seek medical attention by a licensed physician, and dispense any medications.

(signature)

DISCLAIMER: Again, please note- I am not an attorney, and in no way do I have any idea that the above is legally binding, causes cancer, contains lead, whatever. This is just somehting similar to what we've written for my parents when they take the kids overnight, or when we've watched my nephew overnight, etc. Without something like this, an emergency room will still treat any life threatening illness/injury, but won't administer any pain medication, etc. I recommend contacting an attorney. :)

I almost never go riding with my parents. Always with neighbors and their parents. ONe track I go to has a temporary guardianship form to sign. Granted my parents could sue the people who bring me if I get hurt, but honestly, they are not going to do that so I have no worries about it.

I always carry my insurance card, a cell phone and give ALL my parents and good friends of my parents numbers to the people bringing me. I do this so I can get medical care and get in contact ASAP with my folks.

stormer94

Subscriber