holeshot

Crazy Russian
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 25, 2000
Well, I brought my ’06 CRF 450 for its maiden voyage yesterday, and I chose Glen Helen for the proving ground. First, let me tell you that I’m a +50 novice, 165 lbs, in painfully average shape, so take any comments from that perspective. I’ve also been riding a 125 for the past three years.

So I take this thing on it’s first lap, and almost immediately, I’m forced into a hard left and up a whooped hill. How in the heck do people get on the gas uphill with these things? Damn thing was trying to loop, even when I was well forward. Anyway, I completed that lap floundering around – I could barley ride the thing. First impression was that this was way too much bike (and it seemed angry) – anyone want to buy a used 450, only ridden once? Second lap was much better, I even jumped a tiny double – things were looking up.

Later on, I noticed this small double with a hard banked right that about 80% of the riders were doing (but I wasn’t). I may be old and slow, but surely I could do this simple jump and besides, I have a fourfity now – right? Right. I tried the jump twice in second, but was a little timid, so I didn’t quite make the jump clean, so I thought I’d try third and sort of coast over. Wrong approach – I skipped of the top of the landing with too much speed, lost control completely and launched myself over the embankment. I should have been able to save it, except the wicked throttle response landed me in a heap. The usual scrapes resulted, but in addition, I somehow managed to skin my armpit. A bike is not truly broken in until it has scratched plastic. I tried the jump once more in second, and made it clean – I didn’t push my luck and avoided it after that.

Anyway, these are my thoughts so far (subject to change without notice)

1. This bike has gnarly power, I’m guessing too gnarly for most, even those younger and a lot faster than me.