beefydog

Nov 7, 2003
Hi, I'm new to this forum. This summer I did somthing kinda stupid, I went out and bought a 2003 KX250. I'm a beginner rider, I bought my first bike last year, it was a 89 YZ250 that I got for $660. A friend of mine that got me into riding HAD a 93' CR125 and that was the first bike I ever rode. I loved that thing and I alwase wanted a 125, I can think of so many reasons. I can't really explain how I ended up with a 250, but mostly cause everyone kept telling me to get a 250 "You'll grow into it," they're low maintenance and that 125's are crap for sand. Well this coming season I'm going to start racing, and I dont know if I want to keep the 250. I have very little 125 exsperence compared to riding a 250 but my neighbor (hes old) has a 03' YZ250F and I dont like it. I'm not a thumper person, they sound like crap (except the CR450s at the track that are so loud they hurt ur ears) and they just feel slow not to mention the exsaust stinks. I'm not a very big guy, 6'1" 155lbs, I'm 19yrz old, I practice alot and have good endurance. I was thinking of going to a 125 because it seems more competetive at a level more suited to me, keeping up momentium, smart gear choices, precision clutch slippage. Wherease the 250 is so damn powerful that it hardly matters and it seems like whenever I open it up it's only for a second or two then I'm goin as fast as I need. I had to get factory financing to get the bike, I didnt want to wait years saving every penny to get it, but being impatient sure isn't without its price. I'm here whining to you readers for advice, I'm about as confused now as I was trying to decide before getting the bike. I met a guy at the track with the same bike as me, and he bought it in Canada, for like $3,400 brand new out the door, I'v also heard thats illigal, is it? If it is legal, is there a way I could sell my 250, and take some of that money and get a 125 from canada for about $3000 new and be legal? I dont understand full if I could