rairden

Jun 3, 2003
I'm new to the sport.

Does it hurt the front fork springs, or any other part in the forks, to have them tied down in the back of a truck for extented periods of time or any amount of time. I don't think it affects it at all, but I would like to know for sure.
why I asked . . .
I was riding with some friends and one told me while I was loading my dirtbike up to not tie it down that much. I really tied it down as far as I could because I didnt want it going anywhere.

atc3434`

~SPONSOR~
Nov 1, 2001
Fork seals can let go under constant pressure. Just had it happen to my buddy taking him home two weeks ago. I usually watch the fork as I'm pulling it tight, and go to just less than half the travel, if that. Its not really needed to be any tighter, your not doing the Baja with your bike on the back! :)

Malcolm M

May 22, 2003
I didn't realize that the springs put pressure on the seals. After the initial compression of the fork, once the fluid has been displaced through the shim stack, I thought the hydraulic pressure inside the fork whether extended or compressed is about zero. Guess I learn something everyday...

RM_guy

Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 21, 2000
North East USA
It won't hurt anything. Think about how much the forks compress in one lap around the track. The seals are designed to seal tighter as the internal pressure builds up. I have always tightened the tiedowns to about 3/4 fork compression with no problems. I'd rather have it secure in the truck, especially on some of the roads that you have to drive on to get to the track!

If your forks leak then there is some other problem going on. Check for dirt under the seals or a nick in the inner fork tubes.

If you are really paranoid you can always bleed the air out of the forks after you cinch it down. Just don't forget to re-bleed them after you unload it.

Green Horn

aka Chip Carbone
N. Texas SP
Jun 20, 1999
Originally posted by atc3434`