SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
Hi Guys (and Gals),
I've had my XR200R for 3 years, and while it's a great bike, I'm getting too big for it and am ready to move up to a full-size bike. I'm 18, 5'11" and about 160lbs. Also, I'm a university student so I'm on a shoe-string budget. The maximum I can afford is maybe (and I mean a big maybe) over $500 plus whatever I can get for my 200 (probably somewhere around $2500-$3000 CDN). I do a lot of trail riding (I've raced 4 harescrambles and 3 cross-countries to date) and the will PROBABLY be my main choice. BUT a motocross track opened up about half an hour away, and I hope to be able to start riding (and maybe racing) there on my next bike. I also ride sand pits (rarely, about maybe 10 times a year, depending on weather), rooty trails, and plenty of rocks. I've decided I pretty much want to stick with a Honda, and I'm thinking an XR250R, as my 200 and 100 have been great trail bikes. Now here's my dilemma: I haven't found any XR250Rs for sale here in a long time, and as soon as one comes up they sell within days, and as I was driving home today, I saw a 1998 or 1999 CR125 for sale. I don't know the price, condition or even the exact year (it has an aluminum frame, black plastics) but I'm wondering if I should consider it. I've also thought about the KDX200, but I can't find any around here, they're even rarer than XRs. My biggest reservations are the two-stroke thing, I've always ridden four-strokes, and I really like using just pump gas and the not so stringent maintenance of the XRs. Plus, XRs go along ways on a tank of gas, and from what I've seen, two-strokes (especially MXers) can't go too far unless they have big aftermarket ($$$) tanks. So, I guess my question is, should I even consider taking a look at the CR125, or should I just wait to find an XR250R? Thanks guys.

fatty_k

~SPONSOR~
Jul 3, 2001