KC10Chief

Oct 10, 2004
I've been riding for several months now doing woods riding and harescrambles on my KX250. I have some Thor Quadrant boots that I paid around $129 for from a local shop. The boots are pretty bulky, heavy, uncomfortable and the soles are getting torn up pretty badly. I am considering the SG-10, Tech 8's and Tech 10's. Based on what I've read here, I'm leaning towards the SG-10's. Does anybody have any other suggestions? If I bought the SG-10's for example, do you think I'd notice a big difference between them and my current Thor boots? Matt

CaptainObvious

Formally known as RV6Junkie
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 8, 2000
The three boots you mention are all good boots. The best advice I can give is to go to a local shop and try them all on for 10 minutes or so. All else being equal, the "best" boots will be the ones that feel best to you.

rickyd

Hot Sauce
Oct 28, 2001
My tech 8's have held up as expected, i can think of a few times where they have possibly saved an ankle.. Like said before, go too a local shop and wear each model for awhile and see what feels good too you..
RIck

kelsorat

Knucklehead Newbie
Nov 5, 2001
I was also in the market for new boots recently. Here is what I found. SG10's are too narrow for my D width feet. Oxtar's bulky and the straps were a definite point of failure (plastic--not the strap itself, but the buckle).
Tech 10's well let's see. I am and will continue to wear my old T8's, it's just a damn good boot, comfy for all day wearing, walking the pits, riding, protection. So I thought the T10 would just be a big improvment. I was wrong. See for yourself, I think Alpinestars missed the mark on the T10's.

My final choice after lots of shopping and consideration was the SIDI SRS. It's a low profile boot, lots of protection, very thick sole, and they were as comfortable as my T8's, but much lighter.

moto2121

Mar 2, 2004