lilvinny

Nov 11, 2008
Hey, im planning on rebuilding my top end on my 90 honda cr 125. Im just wondering what i need to buy to do a whole top end rebuild.

thanks.

jackflack44

May 3, 2008
A new piston kit, Wiseco's good. Basic tools and knowledge. A Clymer Manual would help.

jackflack44

May 3, 2008
Haven't heard much of that brand. Only heard great things about Wiseco though.

lilvinny

Nov 11, 2008
ok i was just goin for the cheapest lol, because im 15 and money is hard to come buy. i should probably get top end gaskets as well right?

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago

lilvinny

Nov 11, 2008
ok thanks,
wich fluids am i going to need to buy??
sorry about all the questions but im new to riding.
i apreciate all of your patience

jackflack44

May 3, 2008
Smear some 2 stroke oil on moving parts when your sliding them in so you don't chip the walls of anything.

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
A full, change everything rebuild would also include the wrist pin bearing, which is probably another $15 or so. How long has it been since the last top end rebuild? You might be OK with just changing the ring.

The gaskets you absolutely need are the head gasket and the cylinder base gasket. Don't even think about reusing these gaskets. If it has been years since the last rebuild or you don't know the history I wouldn't take any chances, I would replace every gasket that you take apart. If you plan on re-using a gasket, take careful note as you take it apart, any other gasket that tears or otherwise looks questionable needs to be replaced. Often times you can buy a gasket set for less money than buying the essential gaskets alone.