Treejumper

2 wheeled idiot
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Sep 9, 2000
Well its been a tough past week/weekend for me and my family and one that almost ended with me not in it. My grandpa pasted away thursday night so it has been rough around here. I needed to get away so i went riding sunday afternoon between viewing at the funeral home. Told my parents i was going out on my "normal" run which consists of a 20 mile loop or so. Shawn my regular riding buddy (well not the last 2 months) is out at Reserves for the week so i went alone. I've been doing this for 2 months now as i cant find anyone to ride with locally. I know, not a good thing to do and something i found out the hard way Sunday.

It had rained over 2" friday and saturday and i didnt even think of that when i left for my ride sunday. My run takes me across a creek twice. I came upon the first crossing and it looked alittle high but not bad. I was wrong! I dropped off the bank into the creek and everything but the handlebars disappeared. :ohmy: Luckly its not a wide crossing and i made it out without the bike stalling. The other crossing is not as deep but i dont know where the boulders are under the water. I went to cross and made it about half way before i nailed a rock and went down. The bad thing was the current was fast and the bike fell with the current pinning my leg under the bike. The water was deep enough that only my head was sticking out. Any deeper and i could of easily drowned. It took me several minutes to get myself free of the bike and out of the creek. I pulled the muscles in my right thigh, bruised my knee and tweeked my ankle but made it out with my life.