Glikens11

Jul 18, 2006
anybody know of any under 16 enduro races in michigan...i really want to get into the sport and i'm 15 i'd like to go and check out a few races and see what its actually like and if im up for it...what are the trails like...are they like orv trails or are they more like the mcct...like tight, roots, and lots of trees to clip your handle bars on...i've been riding for 6 years and i want to step it up a notch from trail riding.

KTM Mike

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Apr 9, 2001
Do a search here on DRN, Michigan Trail Riders section for Pinecone, Spring Pine Cone, or Mini Moose - you will get a real good feel of what there is! There is an entire series of races exactly like what you describe, called the Family Enduro Series. The next event in FES is the Mini Moose in MArquette on 7/29. After that, I think there is one in Indiana. You just barely missed the Pinecone last weekend. Earlier this year was the Spring Pine Cone, and the Sand Booger.

The trails in the FES series are not ultra gnarly difficult stuff like the full tilt events, but usually do include some "event trail" which is way tighter than any public trail stuff - but still entirely rideable by a younger or less experienced rider. These events are the perfect way to learn about doing enduros, the ins and outs of timekeepin etc! Sit tight here - I am sure Fatherandson, and a few others directly involved in putting on the FES will add much more info!

KTM Mike

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Apr 9, 2001

fatherandson

Mi. Trail Riders
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 3, 2001
Most events cost $15 to enter and have about 100 people enter. The Pine Cone this past weekend has 30 years of history. There are a lot of people that this is the only event they enter for the entire year...we had over 260 people on the trail Saturday morning.
The Mini Moose will be the fifth and final event of the year. The drive to Marquette is worth it....great trails and great people.

CircuitRider

LIFETIME SPONSOR