SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
Hey guys,
Right now I'm looking for a vehicle to take to University (in Edmonton - about 1000km away from Trail) and to haul my bike. I was originally looking at a small Toyota 4x4 truck, but I'm having no luck finding a decent one in my price range. Since I'm a university student, I'm on an extremely tight budget - less than $5000 CDN, preferably less than $4k but I might be able to stretch it. So far any 4x4 I've found in my price range has been a POS. I'm starting to get a little impatient as my plan is to have a vehicle before the July 1st weekend as I want to go to a race in Lytton, BC (~6 hour drive). My dad has been telling me to look at 2wd pickups but I'm a little leary about the 2wd ones as we can get pretty bad roads in the winter. So, my other option is some friends of my parents are selling their 1989 Toyota 4Runner 4x4. It's in excellent shape and has all the options I want, except for being a pickup truck. The 4Runner is well within my price range (they'd give me a deal at under $3k) and would probably last me quite a while. The only thing is I'd need to find a trailer to haul my bike. Currently I use my parents' GMC Yukon and utility trailer to haul my bike. The trailer can be a bit of a PITA, but is useful. The other thing is, I'm in Edmonton for 8 months of the year in the winter and having covered storage (either a canopy on a pickup or an SUV) would be nice for commuting home at christmas and reading week and making road trips. Basically, what do you guys think? Should I keep waiting for a pickup (preferably extended cab) or just go with the 4Runner? Thanks.

MXSparx

Mr. Meltsomeglass
Jul 25, 1999
NoVa
The 1989 was the last year with the removable top. When its off it resembles a pickup?

WoodsRider

Sponsoring Member<BR>Club Moderator
Damn Yankees
Oct 13, 1999
3.0 V6 or 2.2 inline 4?

kmccune

2-Strokes forever
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 3, 1999