oldguy

Always Broken
Dec 26, 1999
Matt90GT said:
no I am basing my facts on my 2006 YZ250F that I built up. The post on TT with dyno numbers helps reinforce the fact that there is power to be made by porting the head.

What are you basing your opinion on OT? How many YZFs have you ported out is what I am asking? If you say none, which I expect, your opinion is without facts.
As Rich said I am not a mechanic and trust our engines to only Eric Gorr and Rich for the work. My opinions are just thAt- but based on the seat of the pants experience of my son racing them (his qualifications while not a national pro rider he is in the upper 20% of our district A class. He is quick and tends to ring every bit of power he can from a bike). We do not rush a new bike in for mods as soon as we get it but instead he practices and races it for several hours (usually until the first valve replacement is due) and then we have Eric or Rich do their magic to it. Every time we get a bike back there is a line of other A riders waiting to test it out and compare to their own bikes- some stock and some highly modded and the usual opinion is that the bike is faster and stronger then their own.
So if I have to hold the tools and mess up my engine you are correct I don't have any facts. But if common sense and seat of the pants testing by several riders is of any value in the real world I am qualified to sp[eak on the results.
BTW I have seen many people gets hands on with snowblowers and chop off fingers- does that make them experts in the design of the augers? You above statement would support that statement. Anybody can pretend (especially on the internet) to be an expert but real world shows the differance. I rely and trust in my 2 chosen mechanics I would like to see some of your qualifications as an engine builder besides opinions backed up by the dimpler's assertions. Remember you called me out first and I have been honest on my lack of hands on :nod:

oldguy

Always Broken