Delgaty

Mar 30, 2009
I changed the oil on my bike today about an hour after washing it and letting it dry. I started the bike up afterward, ran it for 30 seconds then shut it off. I look at my soil sight window and all I saw was white. I was going to just do another oil change but my friend said it might not help because there might be water on my oil filter. Now forgive me, I'm new to bikes but I'm pretty sure my bike doesn't have an internal oil filter. What I can't figure out is how the water got in, the bike was completely dry when I did the oil change. Any help is greatly appreciated, I'm not in a huge rush though, my buddy punctured his rad on his 450 so he'll probably be not able to go this weekend either. My bike is an 02 KX 250 BTW.

Thanks,
Ryan

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
No oil filter if it is a KX250 2 stroke, if it's a KXF250 then yes.

You might want to invest in a factory shop manual for your bike because it sounds like you need to replace a couple of water pump seals at best.

Delgaty

Mar 30, 2009
Patman said:
No oil filter if it is a KX250 2 stroke, if it's a KXF250 then yes.

You might want to invest in a factory shop manual for your bike because it sounds like you need to replace a couple of water pump seals at best.

Yeah I didn't think my bike had a filter. I really hope the bike doesn't need seals, you'd think I would have noticed it before, the oil that came out was perfect, oil that went it was perfect and before I started it it was clean in the sight window. I'm going to try changing the oil a second time, this time by opening the cover and tipping the bike to get it all out, then fill it back up. If it needs that kind of work it's going into the shop. I'm alot more mechanically inclined than many people but I don't do engine internals.

mideastrider

~SPONSOR~
Jul 8, 2006