What are KTM 525 SX's like to ride for MX?

MXTex

~SPONSOR~
Feb 29, 2000
To any owners of KTM 525 SX's that ride MX only; what are they like? I'm seriously interested in one but need more feeback on their track manners. I ride MX only and weigh anywhere from 210 to 220 lbs. I don't race but play ride hard. I like to jump, turn inside, rail berms etc.... I've been riding a KX250 since 1999. I know the CRF's are good but I want something different; but good. Why don't I see any at the track? Is it my dealer network, is it marketing, is it supply, is it the bike? I just can't find much info at all on these things. I'd love to hear from any 525 SX owners. Thanks in advance.

Jumo 628

Jul 12, 2004
One of my riding partners had an 02 and he's a very fast Vet A racer in our district. It might have been a 520 then... no major changes i spose.

He put that bike on the podioum in numerous amature arenacrosses and got invited to the us open because of his results. (amatuer day). I've been on a CR250's since 2001 and he could get that great pumpkin to hold any inside line I could. When it was dry and scorched out he could even track better with that stuccato power delivery while I would zap some wheelspin.

He rode new CRF450's in 03 and 04 and in 05 he is going back to the pumpkin patch for a new 525SX. I've spun it here and there and it is narrow and responsive. I believe it outweighs the 450SX by ony 1.5 pounds or so. The 4 speed gearbox is great for most tracks as the ratios are wide so choose second or third and don't worry if your shifter gets torn off. With the abundant torque you won't get any clutch related arm pump.