What do you think of a 2003 Yamaha TTR 125?

ctophman

Sep 4, 2009
Well, I am looking to get into the sport, but I dont have a bike. I have been looking around, trying to get a bike for a cheap price. So far I came accross a TTR 125 for $450. I am 15, about 5'7, and 130lbs. I have not ridden a dirtbike much, so I am not an expert on them. I am looking for something to have fun on, I know its a bit small, but also for me to learn on. Is the TTR 125 a good bike? It is being sold on craigslist, and Im wondering if this TTR 125 is a good beginners bike. I can't afford much, so the low price caught my eye. It looks to be in pretty good condition also. What do you think would be a good bike for me? Thanks alot :].

The person that will sell me the bike says that the bike has been ridden a bit, but it runs great, and starts always 1st or 2nd kick.

FruDaddy

Aug 21, 2005
The Yamaha TTR-125 is heavy, underpowered, and sluggish through corners, but a lot of fun to play with in the yard. It is a good learning tool that will need to be upgraded in a year (after you have learned a few things).

Rooster

Today's Tom Sawyer
Damn Yankees
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Aug 24, 2000
Nicely stated, Joe. There are a lot of good times to be had on the TTR125.

ctophman - It sounds like you already have yourself talked into the bike, and the price is right for you, go get it and have some fun. There are mods that can be done to the TTR 125 to make the bike grow a little bit with your skills, just search around this site and you'll be all set.

ctophman

Sep 4, 2009
Well, I also found an Honda 2001 XR 100 for about $700. Is that a good bike for about my size? I just want to have some fun, and trail riding.

MXSparx

Mr. Meltsomeglass
Jul 25, 1999
NoVa
Both bikes are pretty much the same size wise. The Yamaha TTR 125 will give you a little bit more motor, for your size not a bad thing. The XR is pretty much bullet proof, also a good thing. I would go for the extra cc's of the TTR.

rmc_olderthandirt