nls2299

Aug 20, 2010
Ok, Im new and not sure if I posted this in the right place earlier, so I thought I'd drop this in here also...
Ok, my first posting.
Son has been riding since 3, rode the wheels off an XR50. We finally upgraded him to a CRF100 which he rode for a year and a half.
His info.
1) 11 1/2 years old, 5'2", 95 pounds.
2) Not the most aggressive kid in the world, but isn't the type to cruise in first gear, just putting along...ran the CRF pretty hard, but didn't destroy it.
3) We ride trails - period. We have about 15 acres of trails to ride on, with a small pitbike track. Land is fairly flat, but we do run down into creeks, up and out, up and down...typical riding ya know?
4) He's been riding since 3, I've been riding for 20+ years - couple dirtbikes, couple quads, streetbikes, Harley's, etc.
5) His friend has a fullblown mx track but he's only been on it a couple times...seriously doubt if we ever actually race.
6) I am mechanically inclined, but as for a complete bike build or engine overhaul, I would need help. I have zero experience with 2 strokes, other than riding my friends.
7) We've always ridden Suzuki and Honda.
8) One dealer near me and they are horrible, however I can access parts.

Well a few of his friends have 85cc 2 strokes. 1 is a serious MX'er (RM), the other a serious GNCC'er (KTM). He's rode their bikes, loved them, rode them well but honestly never kept it in the powerband too much, preferred the RM.
He was timid on the track and in the woods never really had the room to keep it in the powerband...which is fine, the bikes ran well still and he was comfortable...that's what matters most.
Well we thought at the time we'd sell the CRF, get him a 2 stroke. The CRF sold in no time, and I've spent a while locating a good deal on a used RM85 which is what he wanted (tight budget).