What types of races are there that I can find in New York?

jbrider

Registered
Oct 6, 2005
I'm really new to dirt bikes and racing and all of that stuff, and I want to get into the racing scene. Right now I'm purchasing a 2000 yamaha yz250, and currently own an '81 KDX. I've probably been riding just about a year and want to do something more challenging than trail riding. So if anyone has any information on some races that I could participate in that would be great. Another thing is does anyone know how to get a sponser, or what they do? And if anyone wants to be one, I'm open.
Thanks.

LoriKTM

Super Power AssClown
Oct 4, 1999
New Mexico
Start clicking...

www.wnyoa.net (harescrambles and enduros)
www.wnyma.com (motocross)
www.ecea.org (harescrambles and enduros)
www.netra.org (harescrambles and enduros).

Basically, racing in NY is about the only riding there is, but there is lots of it! I know there's also a fall/winter snowscrambles series, but I don't have any links for it.

Oh, and if you don't think that "trail riding" is challenging enough, then go try an enduro. :ohmy:

As far as sponsors go, I have no idea, but I bet if you're fast enough then they'll find YOU.

jbrider

Registered
Oct 6, 2005
Thank you very much for the reply, what are enduros like. 1 of my freinds participated in one and ended up destroying his bike, so I don't think I would really want to do that. But maybe someday, I'll try. Thanks!! :nod:

SpeedyManiac

Aug 8, 2000
If you don't want to destroy your bike, I'd avoid off-road racing. Enduros, harescrambles, cross-countries, etc are tough on bikes. Never raced motocross so I can't comment on how it is on the bike.

LoriKTM

Super Power AssClown
Oct 4, 1999
New Mexico
Well, gee any type of riding will eventually destroy your bike! :think:

As far as enduros being worse than anything else, give me a break.:fft: