woodsrider823

Aug 8, 2005
wheelie on KDX 200

Just wondering what kind of expirence you have with doing wheelies on kdx 200s? I can get my bike up in second gear but as soon as i go like 10 feet my engine is reving pretty high. So i try to lift the bike in other gears by reving and droping the clutch. Is there any other teqnique that anyone uses to wheelie? i know it is possible to shift while riding a wheelie but i am not that good so any other suggestions? or just practice shifting?

Last edited:

kdx220freak

Registered
Aug 23, 2005
well, i just got my bike a few weeks ago, but just really started riding for about a week now. Im not very good at doing wheelies cause i go to high. But the guy i bought it from could do them for like 20 feet. I think he would start in second and when it got real high n the reving he would shift. Now i know this is not easy, as i cant do it yet, but i think it is just practice. Also, he was not doing them to low he kept the front end to were it almost looked like he was gona go over, i think this makes it easier on the bike. Hope this helps

adam728

Aug 16, 2004
http://www.dirtrider.net/forums3/showthread.php?t=103155

http://www.dirtrider.net/forums3/showthread.php?t=25852

http://www.dirtrider.net/forums3/showthread.php?t=82564

There are many different opinions on the "best" way to wheelie. If sitting I'll pull it up in 2nd or 3rd with a little clutch dump, and try to get to the balance point and work it there between gas and brake. Standing wheelies I usually bounce the front a little and hold it up as long as possible, it's easier in sandy soil for me because then I don't have to use the rear brake if going over backwards, letting off the gas usually is enough to bring the front back where it should be. It's just all a lot of practice. I can get my KDX up in 6th gear on hard pack or pavement.

2wheeler

Dec 9, 2004