where do I ride near detroit

cr250can

Feb 16, 2005
Hey I am new to michigan. I came from Idaho. Any good places to ride near detroit. I live in wayne. I ride a cr 250.

Getwild2

Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 4, 2003
cr250can said:
Hey I am new to michigan. I came from Idaho. Any good places to ride near detroit. I live in wayne. I ride a cr 250.
Here is a link that is invaluable, the MI DNR ORV trail listing w/maps. You may already have this link...

http://www.michigan.gov/dnr/0,1607,7-153-10365_15070-38330--,00.html

I live about an hour northwest of Detroit and the closest trail system that is worth riding is about an hour and a half north of me. It's the St. Helen trail (#43 on the link I provided above). A lot of fun, a lot of trail!

The Mounds (#F) is the closest to us, about 20 min north of me. It's the worst possible place to ride though...dangerous as all get out! Traffic galore! It allows full-sized vehicles in the scramble areas (Jeeps, Hummers, etc). The ONLY, ONLY time I'll ride the Mounds is weekday mornings.

Gladwin (#46) is very, very sandy and very busy! I'll never ride that one again either. It's pretty close though, it might not be bad on weekday mornings. Most people cant ride weekday mornings, I used to be able to and now I cant, so I have to be careful of high-traffic trails.

Just a few tips for ya...

FLEM

Sep 22, 2004
there are MX tracks around if you want, Milan has a track I believe. but the best trail riding starts from st. helen up, and even st. helen isn't nearly as good as it once was.
Oh and I second the "stay away from theMounds on the weekends!!!" your taking your life in your own hands with all the Yahoos'

CrazyJohn113

Feb 24, 2005