How many times have YOU replaced your top end?

• To Many to count...

Votes: 123 22.7%
  • 5 - 10 Times

Votes: 69 12.7%
  • Less than 5

Votes: 98 18.0%
  • Once

Votes: 86 15.8%
  • Never

Votes: 102 18.8%
  • I have but I recommend letting the shop do it

Votes: 3 0.6%
  • I have and I don't think it's too dificult for the do it yourselfer.

Votes: 62 11.4%

• Total voters

Frontside720

Aug 12, 2004
I'm looking at picking up a 2000 CR250 and I know with the 2 smokers come the maintenance.

I'm not a mechanic but I like to think of myself as capable. I replaced my full system on my R1 and I'm not afraid to give things a try.

I have some questions...

1. How hard is it to replace a top end?
2. Is it as simple as follow the instructions in the manual?
3. Do I need any special tools?
4. How will I know that I need a new top end? Bike wont start?

After searching the site there's many different suggestions on how often but it seems to be that every 10-12 hours you need to replace the rings and every 20-25hrs the pistons. Is this a safe estimate?

crazyYammi

Aug 31, 2004
top ends are pretty easy to do..
what kind of riding are you doing? Unless you are a pro the topend will last you much longer than 20 hours... i do mine at 200 hours and the rings and piston are still within design specs.
Whoever told you 2strokes require alot of maintinence is FOS.

Frontside720

Aug 12, 2004
200 hours!!! SWEET!!!

I won't be racing but I won't be putting around either. I'll be riding once a week (2x's if I'm lucky)

So once a year should be fine.

How do I no I need to get one done before I blow my engine?

kuchera89

Jul 9, 2004
i have put some hours on my 125 and it still wheelies up,
i would use wiseco, they have forged pistons which i hear wont shatter like others.