World Record for Bruises

Girlrider

Sep 1, 2000
When I decided to take up Trials I thought that I would not come home with as many bruises but boy was I wrong. This weekend I competed in my first National trial in Texas. I got there 3 days early so that I could learn how to ride my new Gas Gas Pro (This bike is 20 lbs lighter than my 2000 GG and has a newly designed clutch.) I rode for 3 days and got a good cut on my arm as well as a bruise. Then on Saturday I started racking them up fast. On Saturday we had a DOWN POOR! It reminded me of day 3 in France last year. I am new at trials this year so I have a lot to learn. Now I was out trying to compete at the National level in some serious mud, water and BIG obstacles that I have not tried dry. Oh and did I mention that I didn't take my contacts so my glasses were so muddy I could not wear them so now I had no depth perception. We rode 13 sections 3 times with a loop in between the sections. I was going to finish at all costs and I did. The only way to get up some of the sections was to sit on the seat and for those of you who have seen a trials bike they don't have seats, therefore my butt has bruises. Then I burnt my leg on the header pipe about 4 times. I have never ridden is such slick stuff trying to go over big rock and then down steep hills. Sunday it dried out and it was much easier to ride but that didn't stop me from getting more bruises. Actually I am not sure that I got too many on Sunday except I smashed my left pinky on a tree and later decided I should bruise the other 3 fingers next to it so I smashed them too! There is another new girl to trials named Lacy who is an excellent Hare Scramble rider and we were joking about how many more bruises we get doing trials than enduro and Hare Scramble. She said she stopped counting when she got to 20. I have 3 HUGE ones on my right arm, 4 on my left hand and 1 on my left elbow. Too many to count on my butt, one on my right hamstring and one on my left shin. 2 o