brettkrupa

Aug 22, 2007
xr 250 decompression problems

I was wondering if anyone has any experience with the hotstart (decompression) system on a '84 Honda 250xr? Something is totally messed with it and I do not understand how it works. There is a small black lever for it under the clutch, the cable from that goes to the top end on a swivel mount (which may or may not be doing something inside the engine?) then from there another cable attaches and runs down to where the kick-start is and attaches to another swivel on the case. Anyone have any knowledge on how all this stuff works and why the hotstart would be stuck on?
Thanks, Brett
(sorry if this is a dumb question, i am new to the whole dirtbiking scene)

Last edited:

Tom68

Oct 1, 2007
Cable to topend is decompressor, hot starts are are bleeds which you hold in when kicking a hot or flooded motor. If either decompressor cable is holding a valve open its adjusted incorrectly. The cable from the kickstarter works automatically I use the hand control to get the motor just past TDC so Ican get a full kick, the bottom cable I back off so it doesn't work.

Ol'89r

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 27, 2000
Like Tom said, the decompressor unit from the kickstarter to the head works automatically. If the lever on the head is moving back and forth when you first start to kick the kickstarter, it should be ok. It should move back at first and then snap forward as you kick the kickstarter. If it doesn't, make sure the cable is adjusted correctly and the lever or cable isn't binding. The little tab on the decompression lever on the head can break off sometimes inside the head. When this happens the decompression lever stops working. It's easy to replace but make sure you remove the little broken piece from the top of the engine.