menihuni44

Apr 16, 2006
Ok i am looking to get a new bike and i want to be better on the track and i am going to get a 2006 and i would like to know which one would be better on the track. yz 125 or yz 250f.

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
For me it comes down to money.

According to member "Masterphil's" study, a 125 costs about $10/hr to ride (gas, parts, maintenance). A 250f costs $20-$50/hr depending on the model.

If you blow a 125 motor, you might have $300-$500 in the repair. If you blow the 250f, you could be looking at $2000.00 in repairs.

I'm not a pro, and I don't have a lot of extra money, so the 125 was the way to go for me.

Plus I like the 125's lighter weight (I'm only 145 lbs) and better handling.

Of course, the 250f has a lot more low-mid torque and power, and thus is easier to ride.

(You can always bore the 125 to 144 - it's AMA legal now.)

menihuni44

Apr 16, 2006
i do want a bike to make me better but everyone is getting the 250f's and i want to be in the front of the pack on the track and have one of the fastest bikes there. What would be the best bike for the track between those two.

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
I would think you already know the answer to this question, do you honestly think everyone would be getting the more expensive more costly to maintain 250F if the 125 was better/faster on the track?

robwbright

Apr 8, 2005
menihuni44 said:
i do want a bike to make me better but everyone is getting the 250f's and i want to be in the front of the pack on the track and have one of the fastest bikes there. What would be the best bike for the track between those two.

As Dirt Rider Magazine recently discussed, a mid 30s pro rider on a DRZ125 trail bike can beat a mid 30s "C" rider on a 4 stroke RMZ450 MX bike.

Speed is 95% rider. The 250F is definitely going to be easier to ride, but if you stay "on the pipe" on the 125, you can be competitive. I've pulled holeshots on many 250f's and passed them on long uphills.