yz 125 wont hold idle, and dies after revs!!!

YZmoto915

Feb 25, 2007
hey guys i am new to motocross and i have a 2001 yz 125, and i have had some trouble getting it started , but when i do it runs fine, but it dies after slowing down from 3rd gear, it just boggs out, and i believe it is running to rich, so basically my 2 questions are 1.) what shoudl i do about the bogging out. and 2.)wht should i run my oil:gas ratio...so any advice will help. as for the bogging out i believe it is just a gummed up main jet from changing the oil type, so we will see about that!!!

thanks, joey.

76GMC1500

Uhhh...
Oct 19, 2006
I had a bike that would foul plugs if I tried to open the throttle. It turns out it was a bad crankcase seal. I slowly opened the throttle until it let me run WOT, and then everthing was good to go, after running at WOT for a while.

adam728

Aug 16, 2004
Hard starting and no idle? Clean the carb, it could be as simple as a clogged pilot jet. If you've cleaned the carb and the problem persists then my next guess would be reeds.

Of course, if the top end is past due than nothing you do will matter till you get that taken care of!

As for oil/gas ratio, I'd stick to 32:1 or more for a 125, depending on how it gets ridden.

rmc_olderthandirt

~SPONSOR~
Apr 18, 2006
The first step is to decide what oil mix you are going to run. Make your decision and stick with it because changing the oil mix changes the jetting requirements in the carburtor.

The next step is to clean the carburetor really well. Many people don't understand what this entails, it is a lot more than taking the float bowl off and wiping the insides out. You need to remove all the jets and soak the carburetor in a really strong cleaning solvent. Note that this stuff is so nasty that your mother/wife will kill you if you spill it in the garage, so do it outside! Then rinse in water, blow out all the small passeges with compressed air.