YZ250 or WR450F or others...for a 235 lb rider. Suggestions?!?

YFZRob

Aug 2, 2005
Hey everyone....I'm new to the site and looking for some advice. I am trying to decide on a bike. I have limited experience, the only one being an '89 KX500 that I only put about 12 hours of trail riding on. I quickly became lazy and moved onto a quad (a KFX400 at the time, now a YFZ450 and '88 TRX250R), which I regret in a way. Here in Florida, the trails are loaded with sand, which always gave me the fits on my KX500. I never had the patience to deal with riding in thick sand, although I was slowly becoming comfortable with it right when I sold the KX. Well, I am wanting more of a challenge, and also something that won't beat the crap out of me. I'm a 26 year old who's starting to feel old too early....hopefully a bike will relieve me of this problem. Another problem is that I'm 6'0" and 235 lbs.....something I'm working on, but doubt I'll see much under 225 :bang: . SO, with all that said, here's what I am considering....

2003-2005 YZ250 used, $2500-4000. Great bike from what I see, 05 being the best....but harder to find and a slight price preminum...is the 05 worth the wait and money to find??

New 06 WR450F, around $6k from Lake Hill Motors in MS. Everyone seems to be pleased with this bike, and I have plenty of experience with the motor. I've already researched all the "free" mods, which are basically the same as the free mods on my YFZ450.

The issue I have is that my KX500 was a BRUTE! I disliked starting it mostly, but it also rode like a BIG bike. Having the 500 as my main bike experience, anytime I ride a 250cc, I feel like it's like a toy, which is why I am leaing that way.