YZ444 Questions

Buzz64

Jun 2, 2003
Hi,
I am new to dirtrider (this is my first post).

Can anyone help me out with answers on the following

1) What sort of HP/ torque increase will be seen when increasing a stock 01 YZ426's piston/bore from 95mm to 97mm. Will it be across the board or say, better only at high revs.
2) What is the better selection in terms of piston compressions 13.5 or 12.5. Or put it another way, what are the characteristic differences of the power delivery of the two pistons. Assuming operation at around sea level.
3) In Australia we are limited to running unleaded petrol which has a maximum octane rating of RON 98. Will there be issues with running a non race gas with the increased diameter bore.
4) Obviously you need to run a 97mm head gasket, but this also mean that you have to modify the profile of the head as well.
5) I have seen some unexplained inferences on TT that there are some problems/limitations in the intake valve size when going to 97mm bore, is there any issue here.
6) Does anyone have a good jetting baseline to start from after increasing the bore.

Thanks

bclapham

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 5, 2001
thats not a bad answer for your first question!

Bill: you should write that up into a thesis and take it to your local University library!:)

SFO

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Feb 16, 2001
Originally posted by bclapham
thats not a bad answer for your first question!

Bill: you should write that up into a thesis and take it to your local University library!:)

It is all Riches doing.
He helped me each step of the way from doing the initial research on the yz-f build up to writing up the results.
I was just the willing hands to screw the thing together.

Rich Rohrich

Moderator / BioHazard
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 27, 1999
Chicago
Bill is giving me WAY MORE credit than I deserve in all this.