carter76112

Aug 7, 2008
I just brought a '94 YZ80 home from my sister's farm. It was her son's. She said he took it apart to work on, got distracted and interested in other stuff, and never worked on it again. She said it was running the last time he worked on it. I have never worked on a bike before, but I have worked on cars so I got it home and started with what I figured was the basics. Removed carb and cleaned it good. Drained and replaced gear oil. Replaced the chain, the old one was all rusted. Replaced air filter. Removed small critter nesting materials from exhaust system. Drained old fuel from tank, rinsed tank with plain gas, filled tank with fresh mix 32:1. I got it back together, and when I turn on the fuel, it pours out the pilot overflow at the float bowl of the carb. I don't know what to do from here. I don't have any manuals, don't know what the initial settings should be on the carb jets, etc. I don't know if my nephew jacked with the jets when he tinkered with it. The jets all looked good when I had the carb apart. Could it be the float setting, the pilot jet not adjusted right? I just don't know. I'm thinking float level, but want to hear the voice of experience, and see pictures if at all possible! What do I do? Thanks!

P.S. I am a Mom fixing this bike up for her son's 17th b-day.

Last edited:

whenfoxforks-ruled

Old MX Racer
~SPONSOR~
Oct 19, 2006
Merrillville,Indiana
Take the carb back apart. Remove all the jets, spray and poke a fine wire through the jets and orifices. Remove the float, and float valve. Clean it and inspect it, or better, just replace the float valve/seat if applicable. Sounds like the float got installed wrong. It may be bent, now. Check the float height. Goggle any online shops micro fiche. If you look carefully, it will tell you the stock jet sizes. Float height, you are going to really need a manual.

carter76112

Aug 7, 2008