BIke stopped! and wont Start! Help!

bully_23

Apr 22, 2005
Hello everybody,
I am a very big newbie and have had my bike for a bit over 3 months, it conked out this afternoon whilst riding, when I tried to start it up again the kickstart lever was stuck and wouldn't go all the way down. After I pushed it all the way back to my shed the kickstart lever had loosened up but it still wouldn't start and when it sounded like it would it lets out a loud noise then dies.

I do not know much about bikes yet, but I assume its engine related? please help me out, Thanks in advance
BuLlY

adam728

Aug 16, 2004
Did the bike bog out and die, or did the engine stop quickly like it locked up?
Were you running premix in it?
Did you let it sit those 3 months with gas in the carburetor, and then not clean it?
Can you better describe this "loud noise"? Is it rattling, knocking, grinding, playing music, what?

My first guess (without better info) would be that the bike seized up, either because of lack of lubrication or a lean issue. I would first pull the spark plug and see what it looks like. I would also pull the pipe and use a flash light to look into the port at the piston and cylinder to check for signs of damage. I'm pretty sure there will be some, which means next the cylinder comes off.

bully_23

Apr 22, 2005
Well It was more like it it stopped quickly the opposite of what happens when you run out of gas. I'm running premix, carby not sure I havn't cleaned it not sure how maybe i'll give it a shot any tips on how to go about doing this. The bike seems like it has seized up but it has a top end thats only a couple months old so I don't think it should have worn out on me.

kkencr250

Sep 25, 2006