markyb

May 31, 2006
I have just purchased a 1990 rm 250 that is in great shape. I am new to the 2-stroke scene so I have a few questions. The bike has supposedly been ported and jetted and rebuilt with a wiseco piston/ring kit. The exaust is stock except the silencere has been shortened.(why would this be) As for mods those are all that I know. What gas /oil mix should I use. The previous owner said 20:1. Should I go leaner? Also does it help at all to use a higher octane fuel? Also I read somewhere that using a BP7ES plug can help lean the bike out a little. Is this true, if so, is it a good idea? I would appreciate any help. I plan to just trail ride the bike a few times a year so I just want to keep it running as smooth as possible.

xcracer72

Uhhh...
May 28, 2006
i rose an 89 up until a few years ago. I mixed 32:1 with a br8es plug ( i think that was it?) The silencer was probably shortened in an attempt to get more exhaust flow and increase power. "FMF Shorty" "Pro circuit r309" etc etc. I only EVER use the suzuki premix. Never a problem. 20:1 sounds a little rich are you fouling plugs or spewing oil out of your exhaust anywhere? as far as plugs make sure any changes you make are identical (threads lenght of threads/diode) etc etc have your local shop reference it for you. when you decide to lean it out go in small increments ususally 6:1
ex. 20:1 26:1 32:1 I run 40: in both a 2003 an 2004 rm 250.

Anything else?

Last edited:

markyb

May 31, 2006
I have only riden it about 4 times for about 10 minutes each. I have not seen any oil yet. maybe a little at the silencer port. It does smoke (white) until it is warmed up and ran, then it does not smoke. Is that normal? The bike is a frick'in rocket. The last bike I owned was a old honda 100 back in the early 1990's. This thing will take some getting used to!

markyb

May 31, 2006