AZrider

Dec 23, 2002
Hey everybody, Im new to dirtbikes(0 skill) and i have the opportunity of getting one. Ive learnd A LOT from reading magazines, talking to riders, and reading these forums. Im able to get an 03' CR125 at a really good price...Ive heard a lot about them and the power issue but Im not basing my decision on power.Spension, handling, and feel is what im shooting for (besides..ive only ridden a dirtbike once and im pretty sure I wont be able to tell the difference in power between a KTM and Honda). I'm 5'10 160 lbs and Id probably ride tracks, woods and a lot of trails. Soooo,my question is... will this be a good buy? Is it a good starter bike? and will the 125 be too much bike for me? Thnx a lot guys in advance I really appreciate input on the subject, cuz i absolutley LOVE bikes :) and Id like to get into the sport...just wanting to know if this is a good strart - Kyle

woodsy

~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Jan 16, 2002
Yep a 125 MXer is NOT a beginner bike! Get a KDX 200 and learn to ride! Spend a year on it and then go get yourself a RIPPER!
By the way, what has the local Honda shop got you convinced is "real good deal"?
Woodsy

beer_stud_76

Mod Ban
Aug 30, 2002
most experienced riders wouldn't want an MX125 for trail use. i could sit and explain all day long why, but just take my (and woodsy's) word for it; they're just too hard to ride on trails. some people do, and some people are even quite fast, but i'm speaking in generalities.

i can't imagine a worse bike for a begginer on trails than a 2 stroke 125.

jeremiah

Midhigh

~SPONSOR~
Jul 19, 2002
I must ditto the word of Woodsy & Beer Stud. A 125 is not the place to begin. If you desire to begin on a 2 stroke the KDX 200 is the way to go and less $$ than the 03 CR 125. Take a long look at the 4 strokes as well. The Honda CRF 230 might be great bike to start with. You could get on the track alittle and take it anywhere is the woods and on the trails. TTR 250, or XR 250 might be good too.