mxdad7475

Apr 4, 2005
We have two cr85r's.I did a top end about 5 weeks ago.Everything was running fine.About 3 weeks ago coolant started leaking out while my son was riding could'nt tell where it was coming from.After cleaning the bike to see where it is coming from i found it.It comes out of the over flow tube.I have change the cap and put on another head gasket,with no luck.Today i started the top end on the other bike and thought i will switch the radiators to see what happens.After it warms up it blows out of the overflow hose.As long as you don't rev it up it is fine.Also checked the water pump forgot to mention that.Coolant isn't going anywhere else just out of the over flow Any ideas would be helpful Thank

kuchera89

Jul 9, 2004
my friends kx125 does the same thing after he changed the top end. we never fixed it cause its a p.o.s.. have you checked the impeller in the pump?
im no pro but id fill up the pump and hoses then put on the radiater, maybe the pump isn't pumping cause it dosent have anything to start suction with. im an idiot so if it doesnt work, i warned you.

mxdad7475

Apr 4, 2005
Coolant is circulatingis.I took the cap off while it was warming up to see if anything strange was going on.Also took the water pump cover off to make sure it was spinning.There is no coolant in the oil.Thanks for any info

Tdel

Mar 1, 2004
If you are topping it off every time while cold it will loose coolant. As the coolant gets hot it expands and creates pressure. Once the pressure exceeds the spring on the cap it heads for the overflow tube. If you can see the fluid in the radiator after the ride once the bike cools down it should be ok. Did you resleeve the cyclender? If so you are reducing the cooling effects of the water jackets and adding more heat to the system thus your bike will run warmer than before. Try adding some redline water wetter it really does work.

mobrown

Jan 26, 2004
He's right on...