billyp10980

Damn Yankees
Aug 22, 2009
I'm new to the site and I just picked up a 1998 KDX 200. I was looking for a few suggestions. The bike has a FMF muffler on it.
1.What would be a good fuel mix to run in the bike?
2.What is a good air filter?
3.Spark plug?
4.Any other maintenace suggestions would be great.

Thanks, Billy

sr5bidder

Oct 27, 2008
I mostly run desiel in mine so I do't have to worry about mixing. :laugh:
uni makes a good filter you can also get the no-tiol prelubed filter

the fuel seriously 93 octane and 40:1 lucas semi synthetic does well castrol 2t does good too....yes put oil in the gas first!

welcome

JTS016

Aug 12, 2009
Congrats on the new purchase! I'm new to the KDX as well. Just got an '03 220 about a month ago.
My bike is stock, so I run the suggested 32:1 with Yamalube R premix. Read a alot of great reviews on this stuff in some older posts. It's run great with minimal smoke, also ran premium gas in it as well. I run the suggested NGK-BR8ES plug. Seems to work great for my bike, but some of the pro's might have some better suggestions for you.

theckeler

Feb 1, 2009
JTS016 said:
Congrats on the new purchase! I'm new to the KDX as well. Just got an '03 220 about a month ago.
My bike is stock, so I run the suggested 32:1 with Yamalube R premix. Read a alot of great reviews on this stuff in some older posts. It's run great with minimal smoke, also ran premium gas in it as well. I run the suggested NGK-BR8ES plug. Seems to work great for my bike, but some of the pro's might have some better suggestions for you.

I run Yamalube R as well on regular... I'm a cheapo ha...

JTS016

Aug 12, 2009
theckeler said:
I run Yamalube R as well on regular... I'm a cheapo ha...

I debated using regular, but since I just got the bike, I didn't want to take any chances. So you haven't had any power issues or just issues in general running regular?

theckeler

Feb 1, 2009
JTS016 said: