Um.. new to this 2-stroke KickStart thing.. I need help

joeym4130

Aug 29, 2006
Hey all. I just got a 2-Smoker RM250 from a friend.

I rode her 2 times since I got it and started it pretty easily, on the first couple kicks. Usually 3 kicks and it was ok cold, and 1 or 2 once warm. MAN THAT IS A BLAST TO RIDE :yikes:

I wanted to ride again the other day, and me being a kid of the fuel injection generation I'm not familiar with starting cold engines that are carbureted.
So I choked it and turned the petcock on. Kicked and kicked and no start. I know now that I was slightly twisting the throttle when kicking cause im a newb, so I guess that let too much air in.

I realized at that moment then that kicking and kicking does nothing but flood the motor. I smelled the gas. I turned the petcock off, and unchoked it and kicked a few more times but nothing happened.

I had to call my pops who used to ride for help. He said to take the plug out for a while to evaporate some gas from the chamber? So I did that overnight and its been sitting since. Plug was a little wet with gas DUHHR. Dried now though. Plug looks clean otherwise.

So what do I do now? My pops said to start the bike normally again w/ choke and fuel on. What you think? My instinct was to do it with petcock off, choke off and wide open throttle kicks. Thats what I read to do anyway.

Any helping a newb to the scene is appreciated :uh:

joeym4130

Aug 29, 2006
Thanks much for that!
It outlined what to do very well. So next time I start it normally I should be set. lol.

What it didnt answer- I was also wondering after the flooding dilemma if I should just go back to starting it normally? Or do something special b/c it was flooded like - starting it with Full Throttle with the choke left off.? I just don't want to make anything worse and have my cylinder full of gas worse then it could already be.

ellandoh

dismount art student
~SPONSOR~
Mi. Trail Riders
Aug 29, 2004
my routine

after a week

gas on, choke on