What sparked your interest in motorcycles?

BSWIFT

Sponsoring Member
N. Texas SP
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 25, 1999
Great story!

bultaco4ever

Oct 14, 2009
A new kid enrolled in my Catholic grammar school when I was in 8th grade (1968). He got a Bridgestone 100cc and I immediately became his best friend so I could ride it. He moved on to Bultaco's while I started out on a Dit one Yamaha250. Through high school we raced MX and short track on TM Suzuki's, Elsinore's, Husky's, CZ's, many Bultaco's. Then I went to college. Took my Elsinore and Pursangs with me and rigged up a shop in the basement of my fraternity. Raced MX in Central Illinois until I had to get serious and study more to graduate. I quit racing at that point. Got married, had kids, raised them, sent em to college. I kept my last Bultaco Frontera in a shed for 16 years. Last year I pulled it out and restored it. I'm a better mechanic now than when I was younger. (thanks internet!). Last year I set a goal to compete in a Vintage Hare Scramble series and Vintage MX series. I reached my goal and took 2nd in my HS class for the season. I ran only about half of the MX races on the schedule but finished 4th in my class for the year. I went to my 'home' track that I ran in high school for a vintage MX race. And after 35 years since my last high school MX race at that track...I won the second moto and took the overall win. That was my coolest moment of 2010. In the last year I have purchased a '97 KDX 220, a 78 Pursang, and a '82 YZ250. My friend that started it all back in 8th grade on his Bridgestone died in a plane crash 20 years ago. I inherited and have recently restored his last Bultaco Astro that he was short tracking until he died. I'm going short track racing at least once this year. 2011 is going to be great!

IndyMX...I loved your story. Keep on trackin' !!

JWW

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Apr 13, 2000