b rag

Aug 19, 2009
Ok here's the deal guys, I'm about to buy my first bike a 05 KTM. Its a 250 EXC 2 Stroke, everything is stock and about 12 hours of riding on it. Here's were I need help I'm new to the sport and want to ride ktm, I'm unsure if this bike might be to powerful for me should i maybe look for something else in the ktm line of bikes. I'm 19 years old height 5`10 and weight about 150lbs. So thx for the help in advance guys

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
The '05 250EXC is a great trail bike with a very sweet engine that is about as beginner friendly as any 40+ hp dirt bike is going to be. It is not explosive or fierce like many 250 MX bikes, IMO.

My buddy had one and raced it successfully in the A class, but it is also suitable for less skilled rider. I almost bought his - very nice bike.

Since you want to ride KTM, your other likely choice would be the 200. It's a great bike, too, but it actually rewards and encourages a more agressive style. Both can be cruised around, but the '05 250 is pretty mellow (fast, but mellow power delivery, if that makes sense).

I think you will be fine with your choice. Due to your lack of experience, you should respect the power for sure, but you won't need to be upgrading the bike for a long long time.

b rag

Aug 19, 2009
Ok thanx your provided alot of insight for me, just one more question this is way later down the road thought. I will be getting into racing in the furture, and still will be riding ktm. Which bikes should i keep in mind as far as power and speed go? Thx

dirt bike dave

Sponsoring Member
May 3, 2000
What kind of racing?

Well, no matter what kind of racing, the rider is far more important than the bike.

For enduros, an '05 250 EXC is still a very competitive bike, IMO. My buddy raced his in Cross Country, and did well, but some riders prefer a close ratio gear box for cross country.