125 rm many MANY mods, how much increase in hp?

125rmcrazy

Sep 11, 2007
okay i've got a 91 rm 125. i bought it from a buddy of mine last year for next to nothing because it had a seized crank. i work at a machine shop, so this was right up my alley.

i've been working on the bike off and on for about 8 months now, i cant seem to find the stock hp rating for this bike, but i suspect its in the mid to high 20's? anyway here goes..

i bored the cyl to 2mm over, making the displacement 137cc. rebuilt the crank with a wiseco hot rods kit. its been ported and polished, no change in port height just smoothened. the head has been resurfaced and the squish angle tightened to max tolerance with supreme pump fuel, compression at 150psi. Ive got a boyesen rad valve with the best reeds they make to fit it installed, a fmf fatty pipe w/ silencer. timing i left stock. jetting is to fmf's spec with one size up from that on the mainjet due to the rest of the mods.

my question is, how much horsepower increase over stock can i expect from this? my brother has a 88 rm 250 competely stock half worn out and i want to keep up with his riding next season.

thanks!

Chili

Lifetime Sponsor - Photog Moderator
Apr 9, 2002
Not that it's important but it always my understanding from the equation I've always used that a 2mm overbore was a 134 not a 137.

As far as the other stuff if you managed to get more than 3 hp extra out of it I'd be surprised unless you truly understand what needs to be done to these engines to make them breath fire. Each of the three RM125's we've owned made over 150 psi of compression bone stock.

Pete Payne

MX-Tech Suspension Agent
Nov 3, 2000
Yep ,+ 2mm equals 134.
Did the cylinder have a cast iron sleeve in it or did you get it replated ? Don't bore and hone the aluminum with out replating , It will last only a few minutes .

2-Strokes 4-ever

~SPONSOR~
Feb 9, 2005
Missouri
I'm only patient for so long.........where's Pete Payne's avatar?

Rich Rohrich