dadshillnut

Dec 28, 2001
I admit it,I am a newbie. I have not had a 2 stroke long and every one has a different opinion on what oil to run.One gentlemen says run MC1 another says SI7 another schaffers. I know that experience is the best teacher but I do not have any so i thought I might be able to benefit from the experience of all the fine riders on this board.So what oil do you gentlemen like best.I do not race. I ride trails through the woods mostly, at 32:1 ratio. thanks for the help

F3504X4

Nov 7, 2001
I ran yamalube at 32:1 for a few years and when i rebuilt my top end's they
looked very good. (95cr125)
I just got a 99 yz250 and the guy who had it is running AMSOIL RACE 2000 at 40:1
Well the bike runs great on it and runs cleaner. So I'am going to stick with the
AMSOIL, I here good talk about the oil.;)

smb_racing

Master of None
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jul 31, 2000
I ran Klotz SuperTechniplate in my Can-Am at 32:1 with great results. (lovely smelling oil)
I ran Mobil MX2T in my KDX at 32:1 with great results.
Now in my current oil burner I run Maxima SuperM at 40:1 just because that's what was in the bike when I bought it. It appears to burn cleanly even though the bike is running richer than I'd like it to.

HiG4s

~SPONSOR~
Mar 7, 2001
I have tried many different brands over the years, right now I user Castrol TTS, if I can't get TTS I user Honda 2-stroke racing oil. TTS pours and mixes eaiser but does not tint the gas so if you have several cans around you cannot tell by looking at it. Honda give the gas a purple tint. Both seem to work fine in both my 125 and my son's 85 I run 32:1 in both. But I have run both oils at 40:1 in my 125 with no problems. I tried Schaffers, and from what I've read it is suppose to be very good, but no matter what I did with my 125 for mix ratio or jetting it would foul plugs. The shop that reccomended it insists I need to run it as 50:1, but I just can't bring myself to run a 125 at 50:1.

Durt Cycler

Trial Subscriber
~SPONSOR~