2 stroke smoke (how to limit?)

sbleakle

Mar 10, 2002
I'm new to this 2 stroke business. I have an '89 KX250 playbike that I recently worked some bugs out of -Thanks to everyone on the list- and it is running. It smokes though. It has good compression so I'm thinking the rings are good. I know 2 strokes smoke some due to their design but how can I limit the amount? Different premix ratio? Mixture change? Am I wasting my time?

thanks!
Steve

dirtbike59

Sponsoring Member
Oct 12, 2000
you can try and buy clean burning oil . but what ratio are you mixing at? i find 40:1 on my RMX 250 works well. but 32:1 is also a good place to start if you are still new to 2 strokes. you are not wasting your time just feel free to try different oils and different ratios. Heck it took me 5 month to find out the motul 800 racing 2t was the best for my bike set up.

dragonmx

Mar 18, 2002
2-stroke smoke

I'm wondering what your plug looks like. Is it black and wet? Maybe you are running too rich? Possibly your crank seals are dried out and leaking. go to:
http://www.eric-gorr.com/twostktech/twotopweb_2t.html#Maintenance and Inspection
http://www.eric-gorr.com/techarticles/sparkplugs.html and compare your plug to the first two pictures. A bike that sits for awhile tends to let the seals dry out (yes, I know this from experience).

When you put everything together did you do a leak down test? Eric Gorr's website talks about doing Crankcase Pressure Testing in the first few paragraphs at the following link:
http://http://www.eric-gorr.com/twostktech/twotopweb_2t.html#Maintenance and Inspection

Last edited by a moderator:

sbleakle

Mar 10, 2002
I'm running Yamalube in the premix at 32:1. I think I'll make up some 40:1 and see how it does. The carb is a brand new Keihin PWK 38mm air-strike with a 170 main jet and a 55 slow jet. I haven't yet got a chence to get it out and run it enough to check the plug but that is next.

thanks for everyone's help!

MikeT

~SPONSOR~
Jan 17, 2001