2000 Cr 80

showtime586

Mar 28, 2004
I picked up this bike for my son to ride on. He outgrew his 60.
Anyhow, this bike makes an aweful sound from around the exhaust manifold. When the bike is revved, you can see the motor separate from the pipe. The spring is tight, and I have used the Hi-Temp orange sealant, but it still separates. Honda used some type of little metal sleeve to seal instead of the standard "O" ring, but it doesn't seal. There is a distinct (very annoying) rattling sound when he rides it.
Also, (As if that was not enough) there is some "growling" and vibration coming from inside the head. It may be normal piston noise, but it is louder than my 2002 RM 250, and the RM has no vibration. The bike was completely rebuilt before we got it, but something does not sound right.
If anyone has any ideas, it would be greatly appreciated. I have ZERO experience with Hondas, so I am in the dark as to what is normal for these bikes. Thanks.:)

DRZ_Dad

Apr 21, 2004
I would guess excessive clearance between the piston and cylinder, those symtoms sound exactly like what my sons was doing, except the piston skirt would break after 2-4 hours ride time

I sent the cylinder and head to Eric Gorr and got the big bore kit.

showtime586

Mar 28, 2004
Thanks for the reply.
This motor was completely rebuilt right before we bought it.The previous rider had it lock up on him and decided to move to a 125. The rebuilt bill was around 1300 dollars and just about everything was replaced. I guess I need to pull the top end to take a look. I sure don't like the fact that I see the motor move upon acceleration, but the motor does not have a top motor mount bracket to hold it on place either. Just no Honda experience to go on...............:)Thanks again.

Bodge

~SPONSOR~
Oct 4, 2003
It dosnt have the top too motor mounts? Are there holes for them or no? How is the power output?

DRZ_Dad

Apr 21, 2004