Autoclutch..?

mattmcphail

Nov 18, 2004
I'm fairly new to riding. I've been riding a KDX 200 and I've been hearing about the benefits of an autoclutch. Can anyone tell me what this is, what it does, and how much of an advantage it is?
Thanks,
Matt

razrbakcrzy

Aug 12, 2004
Use the search function "autoclutch". I am not ragging on you but some will.'

Jim

Mully

Moderator / SuperPowers
Jun 9, 1999

Feanor

Aug 10, 2004
Hi Matt,

I'm also fairly new to riding (very new still actually), but I'll give it a shot at explaining what they are from the info I've gathered on the net...

Oh, and before I forget, also try a search on EFM autoclutch in this forum for some very detailed reviews of what they're like...

An autoclutch is in essence a clutch that works on the centerfuge theory, that is, while the bike is idleing (or otherwise turning lower RPM) the driveline is disengaged so the motor will not stall as it would on a normal clutch bike while stopped...

As the engine rpm increases, the centrifugal force "spreads" some type of friction surface within the clutch that "engages" the driveline while the rpms remain up... This has the same effect as fanning or feathering the clutch lever on a standard clutch bike and makes power delivery at low speeds smooth with no danger of stalling the motor.

I've been in nitro RC cars for years and years, and this type of clutch principle has been in use on small RC cars forever... At idle RPM the spinning flywheel doesn't impart enough cetrifugal force to overcome the spring tension holding the clutch shoes closed... as you ramp up the RPM the clutch shoes "spread open" making contact with the inside of the clutch bell and thus turning the drive shaft... The more RPM the "harder" the clutch engages...