Status
Not open for further replies.

Py90

Apr 26, 2009
Hey guys,
Im new here at the forums ;) and im considering building a bike as i dont have the cash to buy one .., I have no experience with the mechanics of bikes and the nearest track is like an hour away and i have no way to get there :/.
If i did decide to build any help/guidance would be great and my dad can help too as hes a mechanic :) .
What would you guys say buy a new bike or build my own/repair a screwed one :)?

Papakeith

COTT Champ Emeritus
Damn Yankees
Aug 31, 2000
RI
Buy the best running bike you can afford.

If buying parts and assembling them into a bike were cheaper than buying completed new bikes many of us would probably already be doing it.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
How much would you plan to spend building a bike?

Dec 31, 2008
Papakeith said:
Buy the best running bike you can afford.

If buying parts and assembling them into a bike were cheaper than buying completed new bikes many of us would probably already be doing it.

yup, most likely that used bike you buy from someone that "runs great" will have problems with it. so you will most likely have to do some repairs anyways. having a dad to help thats a mechanic is a plus

Py90

Apr 26, 2009
Thanks for the advice guys, I'd probably have around £400-£600 to spend.

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
So you need to decide do I spend that amount to get a bike that needs work NOW or do I get aggressive and save my money for the next6-12 months a get something better? You will quickly find out that a cheap bike is anything but cheap to get to a state you are ahppy with. Sometimes things are worth the wait.

Py90

Apr 26, 2009
Patman said: