tmoney

~SPONSOR~
Jan 16, 2002
Marcus, I saw your picture showing what not to do when drilling out the peens. Can you explain it a bit more. I'm totally new to this and think I may have done the wrong thing. To drill the peens out I used a small drill bit and drilled until I could see the outter tube inside edge against the part that unscrews from the outter tube. Anyway, how much heat do I need to apply. The oil is smoking and I am worried to apply too much heat for too long.. HELP and THANKS

bclapham

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Nov 5, 2001
Originally posted by tmoney
I'm totally new to this and think I may have done the wrong thing. To drill the peens out I used a small drill bit and drilled until I could see the outter tube inside edge against the part that unscrews from the outter tube.

didnt i tell you NOT to use a drill bit? if you can see the threads through the outer cartridge and you have pierced it then youve got big problems, i have heard of people running an o-ring under the CV after doing this.

since you didnt heed my advice here i will assume you are not interested in hearing my opinions on your BV?

russ17

Aug 27, 2002
I have seen as of lately, alot of suspension co drilling the peens all the way through on the cartridge this is being done after the removel of the CV of coarse. I believe they are doing this to clean up the threads, weather the metal is to thin, and possibly could present a problem or not ,but I have seen this alot.
IMO there is probably enough threads below the peens ( if you so happen to drill through the cartridge ) and with the loctite it would probably make for a sufficiant seal. I am baseing this just on observation only.I think the o-ring is probably a good idea.

Russ

DEANSFASTWAY

LIFETIME SPONSOR
May 16, 2002