kdxquebec

Mar 16, 2002
can I have your advice on it:Two monts ago i putted a new front sproket ,mxz racing chain and pbr rear sproket on my bike.I adjust my chain 2 time since that.Now my front sproket is really wear like a banana.Chain and rear sproket are like new.My ratio is 13-48.I bought a new front sproket and a new circlip should i put that in place or change all? Thank you I am not an expert (like you see) :silly: Thanks

Jaybird

Apprentice Goon
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Mar 16, 2001
Charlestown, IN
The chain must have been an old one. Are you certain all three items were new? Are you lubricating? Are you CERTAIN that they are lined up correctly? Are you adjusting the chain according to the manual?
THis is a very uncommon event when things are right.
I suggest you not buy anything yet until you get this sorted out.

(Vous aurez besoin d'acheter un nouvel ensemble. Attendez jusqu'à ce que vous savez pourquoi la première dent a été usée.)

Last edited:

gooby

Nov 8, 2001
hi phil ,that is strange???just the front?as jaybird said check alignment and adjustment.could that sprocket just have been made of poor quality material?(defective)

jmics19067

LIFETIME SPONSOR
Jan 22, 2002
I have noticed that you have stated types for the chain and rear sprocket but not the front. Is it possible that you ordered a cheap front sprocket and the rest of the system a better grade? the front sprocket will see more work on it than the other parts simply because it is so small. every thirteenth tooth it is back to the first tooth as opposed to 100+links of the chain or the 48 teeth of the rear sprocket. Although 2 months is a very short term and I would definately look at any misalignment or misadjustment problems as previosly stated. The idea of only one wearing extremely fast and the others show very little wear is intriguing. I tend to believe that if it was a poor installation problem you will see wear every where BUT the front will see the brunt of it . check the whole system well.