Eric Gorr, modified, RM250 a pain to start

customfab

Aug 7, 2005
So I've got a highly modified 2001 RM250. It has Eric Gorr head work (all around power tune), bored to 265 cc and about every after market bolt-on accessoary you can buy. Very nice bike. Problem is, this thing is a major PITA to start. I'm not a novice to bike either. It takes literally a perfect kick to get this thing started. I frequently bruise my foot attempting (I've torn holes in the soles of 3 motocross boots!!!) & no one else can get it started (all my "experienced" friends try to no avail). It is almost like kicking over a CR500 but worse! Luckily, I'm 6'5", 210lb so I use my weight to help get a good kick, altough it never starts cold without a dozen or more kicks.

I'm about to kick this thing to the curb. I've tuned it twice in the last few months, just in case. Once started, the bike has power everywhere, runs great, and plugs look perfect.

Can anyone think of a valid reason why a bike would be a major bitch to start but then run great? I was thinking maybe an ignition issue or weak spark (looked to be ok by me & has awesome power when running). I'm looking for suggestions to troubleshoot. I've emailed Eric a few times and haven't gotten any responses. I've got too much damn money is this thing to hate it. My foot is too tired.... :bang:

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
What is your starting proceedure? I ask because I previously had a KTM360 with the #1 head which could be a rather big PITA to start. Once I learned a proceedure much like a four stroke it was a piece of cake.
-MX boots only.
-Fuel on
-Choke on
-Neutral
-Nice slow push through to TDC
-Bring it up to top travel on the kick lever
-Nice solid push down with a twist of the throttle
-9.5 out of 10 times it fired right up.