Pushin50

Dec 18, 2006
I just got an 08 250xcw-e, and I was not even planning on it. I ended up in the market for a new bike after a young police officer was killed near my home while riding his motorcycle north bound on M-50 heading into Lowell. The officer worked in the same community where I work (EGR). I am a teacher at the high school there. My wife was very upset about the incident and started bugging me to get ride of my rode bike. I had a BMW 650 Dakar dual sport. At 400+ pounds the bike was a tank on the trail and pretty unmanageable on single track. The "dual" in dual sport really stood for smooth roads or rough road. It was definitely not a road/trail bike. My wife suggested I trade in the BMW for another dirt bike. I already had two dirt bikes and did not really need another, but who am I to argue the with logic of my beloved. So the next day (a Saturday) I was off the dealers. I wanted to act fast before my wife had time to think about what she had said. I went two a couple of Kawasaki dealers because I have always been a Honda guy and I was looking to try somthing different. The bikes they had were pretty much like my Honda's, only green. Since I am red-green colorblind anyhow I could not see any difference between the two brands. So I went to Village M.S., I needed to order some Honda parts, and they had a bunch of new KTM's out on the floor. I was ogling an 07 200 when the salesman pulled me aside to show me the new 250. It looked sharp like all the other KTM's. I asked him why there were wires sticking out from under the seat. He replied "those are the battery wires that run the electric start". Electric start on a two stroke! I was hooked. This was different. I got a decent price on the bike and a good price on my trade ($1000 more than the Kawi dealers could come up with). I have had the bike for ten days now and have been buzzing around the neighborhood. The bike has lots of juice on top and pulls as hard as my 250F down low. I am however a moder