kaosind

Jul 19, 2004
i just got my first dirt bike a brand new 2003 yz 125 two stroke.
after riding around on it for 25 minutes i low sided it and broke my right hand ( i was not warned that the tires get very little traction on road). but on to my question in my few minutes of riding i noticed that it seems i was sold the wrong bike , i told them i wanted something to trail ride, but the way the bike is set up the power band seems that it will be totally unsuited for a trail bike. i was wondering if there is anything i can do to change the power band to make it more suited for trail riding and where it just doesn’t bring on all the power at once. i was wondering if Moose carbon fiber reeds would help if there are any products that would help me out please let me know because im totally new to this sport and as of now rather bummed with the bike i was sold.
thanks for your help

Patman

Pantless Wonder
LIFETIME SPONSOR
Dec 26, 1999
Yes it sounds like you were sold a bike that might not be the best solution for what you intend to do.

Nobody should HAVE to tell ya' that knobby tires don't stick great on the road, it's a DIRT bike.

Perhaps a exhaust change and flywheel weight will help as I doubt you really want to have any internal mods done just yet.

gwcrim

~SPONSOR~
Oct 3, 2002
I rode a '75 CR125 in the woods for years. Even did quite a bit of hillclimbing on it. It can be done. I also learned alot about re-ringing a two stroke during that time of my life. :)

Ya might see if someone wants to trade ya for a KDX200. There isn't a whole lot to do to a 125 racebike to tame the power down. Cheap things to try include:

-flywheel weight
-timing
-jetting
-larger rear and/or smaller front sprocket

pace

Nov 21, 2003