tinbanger

Apr 2, 2008
Hi all, i have a small problem. When taking one of the 25 foot table top jumps at the local track my rear end jumps off to the right side and has almost caused me to wreck a couple of times. what is causing this, it does not happen every time, so i assume that it is a technique issue. now the jump i am hitting is just after a right hand corner, do i need to be more in line with the jump? there is just enough space to get straight, and it usually feels like i do, but? if i am or not......

I ride a 2006 Husaberg 450fe(i know its not a MX'er, i'm buying a yz 250 soon!) i weigh 175lbs 5'10"

I'm not a novice to riding, but to Motocross, only been hitting the track for the past year, but have 10 years on trails and racing enduros, so i know how to handle the bike....while its on the ground.

I do not usually have any issues with to high or to low in the front,i know how to correct, and do regularly. its just the sideways action that has me a little miffed?!

_JOE_

~SPONSOR~
May 10, 2007
Maybe try moving to the rear of the bike out of the corner. Hows the traction coming up to and off of the face of the jump. We ride an indoor track the gets pretty slick in the turns and up the jumps. If I break the back tire loose it normally wants to go to the outside line. There's been more than a couple times we've been a little sideways in the air because of it. I would make sure it's hooking up and you're trackin straight. :cool:

High Lord Gomer

Poked with Sticks
Sep 26, 1999
The most common reasons for getting kicked sideways are:
  • Still turning going up the face of the jump
  • Hitting a rut in the face of the jump, but not following it. This is especially bad if the front tire goes in one rut and the back tire in another.
  • Hitting a rock or other irregularity just before takeoff. How smooth/consistent is the jump face?
  • Losing traction (and the rear end) on the jump face, as __JOE__ mentioned