Good bike for a 15 year old kid????

ETompk

May 4, 2009
Hi guys im new to dirt bikes and was wondering your opinion on choosing a bike. Thanks in advance for the help.

1) your physical size (both height and weight are important)
5'10 170lbs

2) How physical / aggressive are you ?
not very yet, but plan to be in the future

3) what do you plan to ride- MX/SX tracks, woods, fields with trails, woods, but i still want a motocross style bike

4) Do you have any riding experience?
rode a few of my friend's bikes and quads. ridden a yz125, 2 different yz80s, my friend's warrior (quad)

5) Do you think you will race ?
no

6) Are you mechanically inclined and will you be doing your own bike work?
Yes i will do my own work
no, i'll take it to my local shop for maintinence
7) Do YOU have a preferance to a brand/ motor choice (2 or 4 stroke)?
2 stroke

8) Do you have a dealer close by your home that you might use and what brand(s) does he carry?
no, but i could find one

9) How much ($) do you plan to spend on a bike?
maybe up to $2500 my dad's kinda cheap so it might not be accurate

10) Do you live in California?
No, New Jersey

11) Your age?

12) anything else that you think would help form an opinion
i am a kid that wants to have fun riding.

Last edited:

ETompk

May 4, 2009
RM85rider123 said:
A 125 2 stroke would be perfect for you.
ok, i've been told that, do you know a specific model that would be good for me??

May 10, 2007
any of the major 5.

if you want a 4T then an XR200/250 would also be fine too though if you are going to be riding any track then go with the 125 as the XR's are trailbikes. of course also with the XR's whatever you pay for it you could probably get mostly back when you sell it as since they have very little maintenance they have a very good resell value. with your price range though it would be much easier to get a 125.

ETompk

May 4, 2009